# COUNCIL

#### KAYA, Koji

**Director-General** 

# Councillors

Chairperson	HOSOYA, Haruo	Professor, Ochanomizu University
Vice-Chairperson	HIROTA, Noboru	Professor, Kyoto University
	OHTSUKA, Eiko	Professor, Hokkaido University
	OGINO, Hiroshi	Professor, Tohoku University
	KIHARA, Motohiro	Director, Accelerator Laboratory, High Energy Accelerator
	7	Research Organization
	KYOGOKU, Yoshimasa	Director-General, Institute for Protein Research, Osaka
	COTO Kinti	University
	GOTO, Keishi	President, Toyohashi University of Technology
	KONDOW, Tamotsu	Invited Professor, Toyota Technologikal Institute
	SAHARA, Makoto	Director-General, National Museum of Japanese History
	SHIMIZU, Ryoichi	Director, The Institute of Statistical Mathematics
	TAKAHASHI, Riichi	Vice President, Toyota Central Research & Development Laboratories, Inc.
	TSUCHIYA, Soji	Professor, Japan Women's University; Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo
	NAKANISHI, Atsuo	Executive Director, Chemical Society of Japan; Executive
	EUVIVANA Hidatashi	Director, Japan Academic Association for Copyright Clearance
	FUKUYAMA, Hidetoshi	Director, Institute for Solid State Physics, The University of Tokyo
	HONDA, Kenichi	President, Tokyo Institute of Polytechnics; Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo
	MATSUO, Minoru	President, Nagoya University
	YAMAZAKI, Toshimitsu	Inspector, Japan Society for the Promotion of Science;
	TAWAZAKI, TOSHIIIItsu	Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo
	YAMAMURA, Shosuke	Professor, Keio University
	KIEFER, Wolfgang*	Professor, Wuerzburg University
	ZARE, Richard N.*	Professor, Stanford University

The Council is the advisory board for the Director-General. \* Two of the councillors are selected among distinguished foreign scientists.

## **Distinguished Research Consultants**

BABA, Hiroaki INOKUCHI, Hiroo NAGAKURA, Saburo

TANAKA, Ikuzo

Professor Emeritus, Hokkaido University Professor Emeritus, Institute for Molecular Science President, The Kanagawa Academy of Science and Technology Chancellor, Nezu Scholarship Association, Educational

Foundation; Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Institute of Technology

## **Administration Bureau**

OSAKA, Kouichiro TERAO, Shigemi OKADA, Kazuhiko SAISHO, Chikashi KAWANO, Masatoshi NARUSE, Hakaru IWAI, Youji INDEN, Toshio TAIMA, Hitoshi TAKAHARA, Kouji ONO, Yukitsugu IWAKAMI, Nobuyoshi WATABE, Hidemasa FUNATO, Hideaki MOCHIZUKI, Yoshitaka SATO, Hisashi

Director-General, Administration Bureau (–November '98) Director-General, Administration Bureau (December '98–) Director, General Affairs Department Director, Finance and Facilities Department (–March '99) Director, Finance and Facilities Department (April '99–) Head, General Affairs Division Head, Personnel Division (–April '99) Head, Research Cooperation Division Head, International Affairs Division (–March '99) Head, International Affairs Division (April '99–) Head, Budget Division Head, Accounts Division Head, Construction Division Head, Equipment Division (–March '99)

Head, Equipment Division (April '99–)