COUNCIL

Director-General KAYA, Koji

Councillors

Chairperson Vice-Chairperson

HOSOYA, Haruo Professor Emeritus, Ochanomizu University HIROTA, Noboru Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University ARIKAWA, Yoshiko Professor, Japan Women's University IIYOSHI, Atsuo President, Chubu University

ISHITANI, Akira Executive Director, Kanagawa Academy of Science and

Technology

OHTSUKA, Eiko Fellow, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science &

Technology

OGINO, Hiroshi Director, Miyagi Study Center of the University of the Air KAIFU, Norio Director General, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan KIMURA, Yoshitaka Director, Institute of Materials Structure Science, High Energy

Accelator Research Organization

KYOGOKU, Yoshimasa Director, Biological Information Research Center, National

Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology Former President, Toyohashi University of Technology Visiting Professor, Toyota Technological Institute, Cluster

Research Laboratory

Director-General, National Museum of Japanese History SAHARA, Makoto President and Chief Operating Officer, Toyota Central Research TAKAHASHI, Riichi

& Development Laboratories, Inc.

TSUCHIYA, Soji Visiting Professor, Advanced Research Institute for Science and

Engineering, Waseda University

Director, The Institute for Solid State Physics, University of FUKUYAMA, Hidetoshi

YAMAZAKI, Toshimitsu Contract Resercher, RI Beam Science Laboratory, RIKEN

YAMAMURA, Shosuke Professor Emeritus, Keio University

BRADSHAW, Alexander M. Scientific Director, Max-Planck Institute for Plasma Physics

LINEBERGER, William C. Professor, University of Colorado

The Council is the advisory board for the Director-General.

GOTO, Keishi KONDOW, Tamotsu

^{*} Two of the councillors are selected among distinguished foreign scientists.

Distinguished Research Consultants

NAGAKURA, Saburo President, The Kanagawa Academy of Science and

Technology

INOKUCHI, Hiroo Chief Scientist of Space Utilization Research Program,

National Space Development Agency of Japan

TSUCHIYA, Soji Visiting Professor, Waseda University

ITO, Mitsuo Professor Emeritus, Insitute for Molecular Science, The

Graduate University for Advanced Studies, Tohoku

University

HIROTA, Noboru Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University

KONDOW, Tamotsu Visiting Professor, Toyota Technological Institute

Administration Bureau

Director-General, Administration Bureau (-March '02) KAMADA, Tohru MORISHIGE, Kazuko Director-General, Administration Bureau (April '02–)

SUNADA, Hitoshi Director, General Affairs Department Director, Finance and Facilities Department YUUKI, Yoshihisa OYAMA, Takuya Head, General Affairs Division (–June '02) FURUKAWA, Masato Head, General Affairs Division (April '02-)

UCHIDA, Yoshio Head, Personnel Division

HAYASHI, Masanori Head, Research Cooperation Division (-June '02) NAGINO, Tomoe Head, Research Cooperation Division (August '02-)

KITAGAWA, Hiroshi Head, International Affairs Division

HIRAI. Tokio Head, Budget Division

YUUKI, Masanori Head, Accounts Division (-December '01) KUBOKAWA, Tomoyuki Head, Accounts Division (January '02–)

KATOH, Masayoshi Head, Construction Division

SATO, Hisashi Head, Equipment Division (–March '02) FUJIMOTO, Shigeo Head, Equipment Division (April '02–)