## COUNCIL

**Director-General** KAYA, Koji

## Councillors

Chairperson Vice-Chairperson

HOSOYA, Haruo Professor Emeritus, Ochanomizu University HIROTA, Noboru Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University ARIKAWA, Yoshiko Professor, Japan Women's University IIYOSHI, Atsuo President, Chubu University

ISHITANI, Akira Executive Director, Kanagawa Academy of Science and

Technology

OHTSUKA, Eiko Fellow, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science &

Technology

OGINO, Hiroshi Director, Miyagi Study Center of the University of the Air KAIFU, Norio Director General, National Astronomical Observatory of Japan

Director, The Institute of Statistical Mathematics KITAGAWA, Genshiro

Professor Emeritus, Tokyo University KINOSHITA, Minoru GOTO, Keishi Vice President, Science Create Inc.

Visiting Professor, Toyota Technological Institute, Cluster KONDOW, Tamotsu

Research Laboratory

KOMA, Atsushi Director, Institute of Materials Structure Science

TAKAHASHI, Riichi President and Chief Operating Officer, Toyota Central Research

& Development Laboratories, Inc.

TSUCHIYA, Soji Invited Professor, Josai University

FUKUYAMA, Hidetoshi Professor, The Institute for Solid State Physics, University of

YAMAZAKI, Toshimitsu Professor Emeritus, Tokyo University YAMAMURA, Shosuke Professor Emeritus, Keio University FLEMING, Graham R.\* Professor, University of California, Berkeley

JORTNER, Joshua\* Professor, Tel Aviv University

The Council is the advisory board for the Director-General.

<sup>\*</sup> Two of the councillors are selected among distinguished foreign scientists.

## **Distinguished Research Consultants**

NAGAKURA, Saburo The Japan Academy

INOKUCHI, Hiroo Chief Scientist of Space Utilization Research Program,

National Space Development Agency of Japan

TSUCHIYA, Soji Invited Professor, Josai University

ITO, Mitsuo Professor Emeritus, Insitute for Molecular Science, The

Graduate University for Advanced Studies, Tohoku

University

HIROTA, Noboru Professor Emeritus, Kyoto University

KONDOW, Tamotsu Visiting Professor, Toyota Technological Institute

## **Administration Bureau**

MORISHIGE, Kazuko Director-General, Administration Bureau

SUNADA, Hitoshi

SUNADA, Hitoshi

Director, General Affairs Department (-March '03)

KUBO, Tetsuo

PUKI, Yoshihisa

Director, General Affairs Department (April '03–)

Director, Finance and Facilities Department (-Oct '02)

Director, Finance and Facilities Department (Nov '02–)

FURUKAWA, Masato Head, General Affairs Division UCHIDA, Yoshio Head, Personnel Division

NAGINO, Tomoe Head, Research Cooperation Division KITAGAWA, Hiroshi Head, International Affairs Division HIRAI, Tokio Head, Budget Division (–March '03) OGOSHI, Kazuhiro Head, Budget Division (April '03–)

KUBOKAWA, Tomoyuki Head, Accounts Division KATOH, Masayoshi Head, Construction Division FUJIMOTO, Shigeo Head, Equipment Division