OKAMOTO, Hiromi Photo-Molecular Science



OHMORI, Kenji Photo-Molecular Science



Humboldt Research Award

Okamoto deserves the award.

Nanostructures"

The Chemical Society of Japan Award for Creative Work

"Pioneering Development of Spatiotemporal Quantum Engineering with Precisions on the Picometer and Attosecond Scales'

"Nano-Optical Studies on Physical and Chemical Characteristics of Noble Metal

The Chemical Society of Japan Award for Creative Work is awarded to researchers who have made a leading contribution to the fundamentals and applications of chemistry. Since appointed as a professor in IMS, Prof. Okamoto developed and established a new measurement methodology for the studies of excited states of nanomaterials based mainly on scanning near-field optical microscopy. He used the developed method to reveal fundamental optical characteristics of plasmonic noble metal nanostructures. The achievements were highly evaluated and the Society concluded that Prof.



Kenji Ohmori, Professor and Chairman of the Department of Photo-Molecular Science, has been awarded Humboldt Research Award. The award has been founded by Alexander von Humboldt foundation funded by the government of Federal Republic of Germany. It is awarded in recognition of a researcher's entire achievements to date in a variety of disciplines such as humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and engineering, and is presented to academics whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline and who are expected to continue producing cutting-edge achievements in the future. It is considered to be the most prestigious academic award in Germany, and 42 Humboldt Research Awardees have subsequently been awarded Nobel Prize. The award has been granted to Professor Ohmori for his pioneering development of spatiotemporal quantum engineering with precisions on the picometer and attosecond scales.

KATO, Koichi Life and Coordination-Complex Molecular Science



The Erwin von Bälz Prize 2011 (First Prize)

"Molecular Mechanism Underling Initiation of Amyloidogenesis and Its Application to Development of Disease-Modifying Drugs for Alzheimer Disease"

Professor Koichi Kato was awarded the first prize in the Erwin von Bälz Prize 2011 together with Dr. Katsuhiko Yanagisawa (Director of the National Center for Geriactrics and Gerontology's Center for Development of Advanced Medicine for Dementia) and Dr. Katsumi Matsuzaki (Professor of the Graduate School of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kyoto University) for their paper on "Molecular Mechanism Underling Initiation of Amyloidogenesis and Its Application to Development of Disease-Modifying Drugs for Alzheimer Disease." This prize was awarded by Boehringer Ingelheim GmbH interlinking the bestowal to the awardees with its gratitude and its wish for continuing close and successful collaboration between Japanese and German Medicine.

TAIRA, Takunori Laser Research Center for Molecular Science



FURUTANI, Yuji Life and Coordination-Complex Molecular Science

SPIE Fellow

"Significant Achievement in the Field of Solid-State Lasers and Nonlinear Optics"

SPIE, the international society for optics and photonics, was founded in 1955 to advance light-based technologies. Serving more than 225,600 constituents from approximately 150 countries, the Society advances emerging technologies through interdisciplinary information exchange, continuing education, publications, patent precedent, and career and professional growth. Fellows are Members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging. They are honored for their technical achievement, for their service to the general optics community, and to SPIE in particular. More than 900 SPIE members have become Fellows since the Society's inception in 1955.

Morino Foundation for Molecular Science (2012)

"Investigation of Molecular Mechanisms of Signal Transduction and Energy Conversion of Membrane Proteins and Specific Reactions in Nanospaces Mimicking Protein Function by Using Infrared Spectroscopy"

KURASHIGE, Yuki Theoretical and Computational Molecular Science

Young Researcher Award from National Institute of Natural Science "Development of Quantum-Chemical Density-Matrix Renormalization Group Theory and Applications to Electronic-Structure of Metalloenzymes"

YOSHIDA, Norio Theoretical and Computational Molecular Science	Young Scientist Award of the Japan Association of Solution Chemisty 2011 "Theoretical Study on Chemical Processes in Solution by Integral Equation Theory"
KAJI, Toshihiko Research Center for Molecular Scale Nanoscience	31st Young Scientist Oral Presentation Award from The Japan Society of Applied Physics "Co-Evaporant Induced Crystallization of Donor:Acceptor Blends in Organic Solar Cells"
SAWAI, Hitomi Life and Coordination-Complex Molecular Science	The 5 <sup>th</sup> Shiseido Female Researcher Science Grant "Elucidation of the Molecular Mechanisms for Intracellular Heme Homeostasis" The Chemical Society of Japan Presentation Award 2012 "Molecular Mechanism of Functional Regulation by Heme for the Novel Transcriptional Regulator, HesR"
YAMAGUCHI, Takumi Life and Coordination-Complex Molecular Science	The Chemical Society of Japan Presentation Award 2012 "Paramagnetic-Tagging for Development of NMR Conformational Analyses of Oligosaccharides"
KONDO, Mio Life and Coordination-Complex Molecular Science	The 5 <sup>th</sup> Shiseido Female Researcher Science Grant "Construction of Water Splitting System via the Control of Electron Transfer at Interface"
AOYAMA, Masaki Equipment Development Center	The Chemical Society of Japan Award for Technical Achievements "Fabrication of Experimental Devices for Molecular Science by Advanced Machining Technology"