Site Search


Researchers detail

FUJITA, Makoto

Distinguished Pro.

TEL: 0564-59-5580
E-Mail : (Please replace the "_at_" with @ )
Location: Yamate, No.3 Bldg. 4F

Affiliation laboratory >


Division of Advanced Molecular Science


1980 BSc Chiba University
1982 MSc Chiba University
1987 Ph.D. Tokyo Institute of Technology
1982-1988 Researcher, Sagami Chemical Research Center.
1988-1997 Assist. Prof. to Assoc. Prof., Chiba University.
1997-1999 Assoc. Prof., Inst. for Molecular Science (IMS)
1999–2002 Professor, Nagoya University.
2002- Professor, The University of Tokyo
2018- Distinguished Professor, Inst. for Molecular Science (IMS) (additional post)


1994 Progress Award in Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan
2000 Division Award of Chemical Society of Japan (Organic Chemistry)
2001 Tokyo Techno Forum 21 Gold Medal
2001 Japan IBM Award
2003 Nagoya Silver Medal
2004 Izatt-Christensen Award
2006 G.W.Wheland Award (Chicago University Lectureship Award)
2010 The Reona Esaki Award
2010 The JSCC Award
2011 3M Lectureship Award (University of British Columbia)
2012 Thomson Reuters Research Front Award 2012
2013 The Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ) Award
2013 Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (ACS National Award)
2013 Merck-Karl Pfister Visiting Professorship (MIT Lectureship award)
2014 ISNSCE 2014 Nanoprize
2014 Medal with Purple Ribbon (Cabinet Office, Government Of Japan)
2014 Fred Basolo Medal (Northwestern University)
2019 The Imperial Prize and the Japan Academy Prize
2020 The 73rd Chunichi Cultural Award
2020 Clarivate Analytics Citation Laureate 2020
2020 “Major Results” of Nanotechnology Platform, MEXT

Main research themes

Self-assembling Molecular Systems Based on Coordination Chemistry
kewords Self-assembly, Nano-space, Coordination Chemistry
PDF Annual Review : PDF

Selected Publications

  1. Q.-F. Sun, J. Iwasa, D. Ogawa, Y. Ishido, S. Sato, T. Ozeki, Y. Sei, K. Yamaguchi, and M. Fujita, "Self-Assembled M24L48 Polyhedra and Their Sharp Structural Switch upon Subtle Ligand Variation" Science 328, 1144-1147 (2010).
  2. D. Fujita, K. Suzuki, S. Sato, M. Yagi-Utsumi, Y. Yamaguchi, N. Mizuno, T. Kumasaka, M. Takata, M. Noda, S. Uchiyama, K. Kato, and M.Fujita “Protein encapsulation within synthetic molecular hosts” Nat. Commun. 3, 1093 (2012).
  3. "X-ray analysis on the nanogram to microgram scale using porous complexes"
    Y. Inokuma, S. Yoshioka, J. Ariyoshi, T. Arai, Y. Hitora, K. Takada, S. Matsunaga, K. Rissanen, M. Fujita Nature 495, 461-466 (2013).
  4. “Self-assembly of M30L60 Icocidodecahedron” D. Fujita, Y. Ueda, S. Sato, H. Yokoyama, N. Mizuno, T. Kumasaka, M. Fujita Chem 1, 91-101 (2016).
  5. Self-Assembly of Tetravalent Goldberg Polyhedra from 144 Small Components D. Fujita, Y. Ueda, S. Sato, N. Mizuno, T. Kumasaka, M. Fujita, Nature 540, 563-566 (2016).