Site Search


Researchers detail


Director General

TEL: 0564-55-7103
E-Mail : (Please replace the "_at_" with @ )
Location: Myoudaiji, Main Office Bldg. 2F West area

Affiliation laboratory >


Director General, Institute for Molecular Science


B. Sc. March 1975 Department of Chemistry, University of Tokyo
M. Sc. March 1977 Graduate School of Science, University of Tokyo
D. Sc. June 1980 Graduate School of Science, University of Tokyo
1980-82 Postdoc: Contract Researcher, RIKEN
1982-83 Postdoc: JSPS Fellow at The University of Tokyo
1983-84 Assistant, Osaka Industrial Research Institute, MITI
1984-85 Postdoc: Contract Researcher, Osaka Gas Co.,
1985-88 Researcher, Catalysis Lab., RIKEN
1988-91 TDK Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology
1991-10 Chief Scientist, Director of Surface Chemistry Laboratory, RIKEN
2004-  Professor, Department of Advanced Materials Science, The University of Tokyo
2010-15 Executive Director, RIKEN
2015-16 Special Advisor to the President, RIKEN
2016- Director General, Institute for Molecular Science
2018-20 President, the Chemical Society of Japan
2019- Executive Director, National Institutes of Natural Sciences


1996 Saruhashi Award, for Woman Scientist, Japan
2005 Japanese Surface Science Society Award, Japan
2008 The Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Prize for Science and Technology (Research Category), Japan.
2009 The Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ) Award
2010 American Physical Society (APS) Fellow: For pioneering work on single-molecule spectroscopy on surfaces.
2010 Surface Science Society of Japan Fellow: For Single molecule spectroscopy at surfaces
2012 Mukai Award, Japan
2015 The IUPAC 2015 Distinguished Women in Chemistry / Chemical Engineering
2015 Gerhard Ertl Lecture award, Fritz-Haber Institute der Max Plank Society
2016 Medard W. Welch Award
2016 Humboldt Research Award
2017 Medal with Purple Ribbon
2018 Diels-Planck Lecture 2018
2019 21st edition of the L’Oréal-UNESCO international awards for women in science
2019 Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC)
2020 Japan Academy Prize

Main research themes